“Mama Said” Performed by The Shirelles (1961)

“Mama Said” reached #4 Pop and #2 R&B in the spring of 1961.

There is not too much more to say about these great ladies that hasn’t been said in the three earlier posts here on this blog about the Shirelles. This is just another one of their many great hits. In addition to the single release, “Mama Said” appeared on the girls third LP release of 1963 entitled “The Shirelles Sing to Trumpets & Strings”, on the Sundazed label and pictured here. (Once again I was unable to upload graphics on this buggy new WP interface: hope to able to do it soon. Sorry)

Just a quick introduction for those of you who don’t know The Shirelles:

“The Shirelles, a group of 16 and 17 year olds, were all friends from Passaic High School in Passaic, New Jersey, that began singing together in 1958. Fans of the Flamingos, Chantels, and Little Anthony and the Imperials as well as the Bobbettes, The Shirelles received a large part of their musical education by listening to New York’s premier R&B station at the time, WWRL.

Originally they called themselves the Poquellos (meaning birds).” (Source and rest of article)

“Mama Said” Composed By Willie Denson & Luther Dixon

Mama said there’ll be days like this,
There’ll be days like this Mama said
(Mama said, mama said)
Mama said there’ll be days like this,
There’ll be days like this my Mama said
(Mama said, mama said)

I went walking the other day,
Everything was going fine,
I met a little boy named Billy Joe
And then I almost lost my mind

Mama said there’ll be days like this,
There’ll be days like this Mama said
(Mama said, mama said)
Mama said there’ll be days like this,
There’ll be days like this my Mama said

My eyes are wide open
But all that I can see is,
chapel bells are callin for everyone but-a me
but I don’t worry cause

Mama said there’ll be days like this,
There’ll be days like this Mama said
(Mama said, mama said)
Mama said there’ll be days like this,
There’ll be days like this my Mama said

And then she said someone will look at me
like I’m looking at you one day,
then I might find
I don’t want it any old way,
so I don’t worry cause.

Thanks for listening and reading. See you soon.

SonDan

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/05/09/mama-said-the-shirelles-1961/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No comments? this goes right along with One Fine Day and Don’t Hang Up. for some reason when i think of one of these song they all pop up in my head lol

    • They all go together in your head because they all have that great girl group sound that makes you feel peppy and happy and carefree inside and you want to go out and dance on the beach and sing along to the song! (Ha Ha). That’s my answer and I’m sticking to it.

      • lol i’ll take that 🙂


Leave a comment