“Chains” Performed by The Cookies (1963)

What a great tune!

The Cookies went through a few different configurations. The original 1953 lineup was Dorothy Jones and her cousin Beulah Robertson, Ethel “Earl-Jean” McCrea and Pat Lyles. In 1956 Robertson was replaced by Margie Hendricks. The group sang backup for Atlantic Records vocalists including LaVern Baker, Ruth Brown, Joe Turner and Chuck Willis. But when this group was introduced to Ray Charles they were renamed the Raelettes and worked under that name until 1962.

Wiki explains the second lineup as follows:

In 1962, a new version of the Cookies emerged in New York, with Earl-Jean McCrea joining newcomers Dorothy Jones and Margaret Ross. Jones went solo and reformed the group in the early 1960s with another cousin, Margaret Ross and Darlene McCrea’s younger sister, Earl-Jean. This trio had the greatest success as the Cookies, under their own name, as backing vocals for other artists, and recording demos for Aldon Music, under the direction of Carole King and Gerry Goffin.

All of these personnel changes have me a bit confused. But I do know that the latter group is the one that sang backup behind Tony Orlando, Neil Sedaka and most notably on Little Eva’s 1962 hit “Locomotion” . They soon had their own hits including “Chains” in 1963 that was also covered by the Beatles in the same year. The Cookies version went #6 R&B, #17 Pop and #50 UK.

Earl-Jean left the group in 1964 for a solo career.

Chains – Composed by the Brill Building’s Carole King and Gerry Geoffin

Chains
My baby’s got me locked up in chains
And they ain’t the kind that you can see
Whoa-oa, these chains of love got a hold on me
Yeah

Chains
Well, I can’t break away from these chains
I can’t run around ’cause I’m not free
Whoa-oa, these chains of love won’t let me be
Yeah

Now, believe me when I tell you
I think you’re fine
I’d like to love you
But, darling, I’m imprisoned by these

Chains
My baby’s got me locked up in chains
And they ain’t the kind that you can see
Whoa-oa, these chains of love got a hold on me
Yeah

I wanna tell you, pretty baby,
Your lips look sweet
I’d like to kiss them
But I can’t break away from all of these

Chains
My baby’s got me locked up in chains
And they ain’t the kind that you can see
Whoa-oa, these chains of love got a hold on me
Yeah

Chains
Chains of love

Chains of love
(repeat and fade out)

Keep enjoying the music and thanks for visiting.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/05/05/chains-as-performed-by-the-cookies-1963/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. wow i enjoyed it. i like that tapping at the beginning of the song. thanks for sharing it

  2. You are welcomed. Yes I like this one a bit better than the Beatles — but it is a great song no matter who sings it. Take Care BlueD

  3. […] “Don’t Say Nothin Bad” charted #3 R&B and #7 pop charts, 1963. “Chains” had peaked at #6 & 17 respectively. […]

  4. Thanks amiga! Hope you can put on “I Never Dreamed” by the “Cookies”. . . their all-time masterpiece when Margaret Ross was indesputabe lead voice. The sweetness & perfection of the harmony alone can make ya weep man!!

    – Lord hug you tight… Butchie

  5. Hi Butchie,

    Good to meet you and great site you have — it’s right up my alley! 😉

    I will add “I Never Dreamed” to my short list of requests for my next go-round on the “Girl Group” Theme so please keep stopping by.

    BTW you are so very right in saying that there isn’t anything else like listening to great harmony! I grew up listening to the great male gospel quartets every Sunday of my youth — so it is part of my soul. It can make you hair stand up on end, can’t it?

    Thanks for the hug and have a safe and happy holiday weekend Butchie.

    Sincerely,
    SonDan


Leave a comment