“Don’t Say Nothin’ Bad” Performed by The Cookies (1963)

The Cookies follow-up for “Chains” was entitled “Don’t Say Nothin’ Bad (About My Baby)”. It might not be as well know as “Chains”. But it actually charted better. A lot of folk probably also know the song “Chains” from the Beatles cover on their very first LP “Please, Please Me” in 1963.

“Don’t Say Nothin Bad” charted #3 R&B and #7 pop charts, 1963. “Chains” had peaked at #6 & 17 respectively.

Just as was “Chains”, “Don’t Say Nothing Bad” was also written by the uber talented song writing team of Carole King and her then husband Gerry Goffin. Gotta love the lyrics’ sass and brass. My favorite line is “He’s true, He’s true to me, So girl you better shut your mouth” 😉

Don’t Say Nothin’ (Bad Bout My Baby) Composed by Gerry Goffin & Carole King

Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(I love him so)

Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, don’t you know)
Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby

He’s good (he’s good)
He’s good to me (good to me)
That’s all I care about

(Oh, no) don’t you tell me
My baby’s just a playboy
(It wasn’t him) don’t you tell me
My baby’s just a playboy

(Not tonight) I won’t listen
To a single word you say
(He’s my guy) don’t you tell me
My baby’s just a playboy

He’s true (he’s true)
He’s true to me (true to me)
So girl you better shut your mouth

(Everyone says he’s lazy)
But not when he’s kissin’ me
(Everyone says he’s crazy)
Sure he’s crazy
Crazy about me, oh, yeah

Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(I love him so)
Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, don’t you know)
Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby

He’s good (he’s good)
He’s good to me (good to me)
And that’s all I care about

[Instrumental Interlude]

(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(I love him so)

Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, don’t you know)
Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby

He’s true (he’s true)
He’s true to me (true to me)
So, girl, you better shut your mouth

(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
Don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby
(Oh, no) don’t say nothin’
Bad about my baby

Song Trivia: Carole King helped provide backup vocals.

This configuration of the group disbanded in 1963.

“Following their breakup, Earl-Jean McCrea, working under the name Earl-Jean, had a solo recording career that started on a promising note in the summer of 1964 with “I’m Into Something Good.” Unfortunately for her, the song was picked up by Herman’s Hermits and charted in the Top Ten in their version the following fall, eclipsing the original record and the artist herself. ” (Source)

You know that British Invasion really put a cramp in the glorious girl-group sound of the USA. Geesh!

Keep enjoying the music and thanks for stopping by.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/05/07/dont-say-nothin-bad-as-performed-by-the-cookies-1963/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

