Drake Levin, of Paul Revere & the Raiders, Dies at 62

drake levin as raider

Drake Levin, who played lead guitar for the teen-idol rock band Paul Revere & the Raiders during their biggest hit-making years in the mid-1960s, died July 4 in San Francisco. He was 62.

The cause was cancer, said his wife, Sandra.

The NY Times Obituary continues here.

A fan tribute site to Levin is here.

Published in: on July 10, 2009 at 9:39 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2009/07/10/drake-levin-of-paul-revere-the-raiders-dies-at-62/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. …Stevie here:OMG,Drake died!?!?!?…I did a session with him in LA for his son (I think it was his son,it WAS a while back)…I used to see/hear him in the clubs in San Francisco after he moved up that way…we’d stay in touch by phone off and on over the last 15 years after I moved to LA…
    …I noted,after looking at the credits,that Drake played on the 1st Ananda Shankar album that had the cover of “Jumpin’ Jack Flash”,amongst his many LA sessions…

    …I also note your review of the Wild Magnolias,a personal fave as well…I played guitar with Elvin Bishop and Mac Rebennack (aka Dr. John) concurrently for seven years,plus a bunch of gigs with Zigaboo Modeliste,so that bluesy,swampy feel,with “second line” is somewhat ingrained in my musical style…

    …back to Drake:I’d talked to him when he was first diagnosed with cancer a while back,and it seemed he’d kicked it at the time,but he’d lost a lot of weight and was very tired…his spirit was good,and he was taking his illness in stride…sorry to see that the cancer came back,AND I’m that I didn’t have the opportunity to talk to him…another fave musician frrom my San Francisco days,sax player Ron “Rev” Stallings passed away recently…I remember him playing with “Mother Earth” and Elvin Bishop,plus a ton of other bands around SF when I was growing up…well,I’m rambling,talk to you later,Stevie…

    • Hi Stevie,

      It is a pleasure to meet a musician with a history such as yours. I am so sorry to be the bearer of sad news to you. We have lost so very many musical artists recently it makes me wonder what lies ahead for music of the future. I am glad we have recordings to enjoy and learn from.

      Hope to see more of you around here and please, please ramble all you want. You have great ramblings. (SMILE)

      SonDan


Leave a comment