When Something is Wrong With My Baby as Performed by Sam & Dave (1967)

Sam & Dave – When Something is Wrong With My Baby (1967)

According to WIKI:

“Sam & Dave met in The King of Hearts Club in Miami in December 1961, where Moore was the MC and Prater was performing on amateur night. According to Moore, when Prater forgot some of the the words to the Jackie Wilson song “Doggin’ Around”, Moore jumped in and started singing with him, to positive audience response. Moore and Prater started working together professionally immediately thereafter, developing a raucous live act featuring gospel-inspired call-and-response performances. “(Source)

Sam Moore and Dave Prater recorded together with little success until they were signed to Atlantic Records. Atlantic’s management decided that the gospel trained duo should be produced at their Stax affiliate office in Memphis. And of course this is where Issac Hayes and David Porter propelled Sam & Dave to stardom with a string of Top Ten hits that included this ballad that I truly love!

“When Something is Wrong With My Baby” was on Sam & Daves second Album outing titled “Double Dynamite”. I would sing to this record all the time as a kid — having no clue about love and such. I just knew it sounded good then and it still does today.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/04/18/when-something-is-wrong-with-my-baby-as-performed-by-sam-dave-1967/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] “Said I Wasn’t Gonna Tell Nobody”; “You Got Me Hummin”; and “When Something is Wrong with My Baby”. I loved everyone of these gospel tinged soulful songs.  But their historical claim to fame came […]


Leave a Reply

