“Does Your Mama Know About Me” Performed by Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers (1968)

BT&Vancouvers

Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers – Does Your Mama Know About Me (1968) #5 R&B, #29 Pop

From Vancouver, British Columbia, this Guy Group consisted of:  Tommy Chong on Guitar; Wes Henderson on Bass/guitar; Robbie King on Keyboards; Ted Lewis aka Duris Maxwell on Drums; Edward Patterson on Guitar/bass and Bobby Taylor on Vocals.

The Web Site Soully Oldies, which celebrates the Motown legacy,  has written a most wonderful piece on this most underrated, and yet another of the short lived talented Motown groups that passed through the Motown doors.

Entitled “Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers – Mixed Company” — please click on the link and read all of the pertinent information that you would ever want to know about BT&TV in this well written article. I couldn’t have said it all any better. You will learn who Bobby Taylor discovered and who discovered them — bringing the already existing group to Berry Gordy in 1967.

I vividly recall when this song came out that one of my interracial school mates came into the Junior High School cafeteria  and told us about this “great new song she  heard.”  I suppose it was something her parents were digging.

Co-written by Tommy Chong  (later of  Cheech & Chong hilarity and fame and of course father of actress Rae Dawn Chong) the lyrics must have come straight from the script of his life!  Can’t get any more real than that.

Please enjoy this beautiful love ballad.  I know I did then,  and still do now. I knew all the lyrics then and still do now. What about you? (BIG GRIN)

Does Your Mama Know About Me
Composed by Tommy Chong and Tom Baird

(Does your mama know about me?
Does she know just what I am?
Will she turn her back on me)
Or accept me as a man?

And what about your Dad?
Did you think of what he’ll say?
Will he be understanding
Or does he think the usual way?

Maybe I shouldn’t worry
But I’ve been through this before
And I’d like to get things straight
Before I’m knocking on your door

(Does your mama know about me?
Does she know just what I am?
If she says forget about me)
Do you think you’d understand?

And what about your friends?
Do you care what people say?
Will you accept the burdons
I know will surely come your way?

Maybe I shouldn’t worry
But I’ve been through this before
And I’d like to get things straight
Before I’m knocking on your door

(Does your mama know about me?
Does she know just what I am?
Will she turn her back on me?)
Or accept me as a man?

We’ve got to stand tall
Can’t stumble or crawl
We’ve got to be strong
For love that’s so right
Can’t be wrong
And every day I see it grow
And I don’t want to let it go
I guess that’s why I gotta know

(Does your mama know about me?
Does your mama know about me?
Does your mama know about me?
Does your mama know about me?
Does your mama know about me?)

Musically Yours,

sondanyr2

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2009/06/15/does-your-mama-know-about-me-performed-by-bobby-taylor-the-vancouvers-1968/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

