“Dont Pass Me By” – Performed by The Beatles (1968)

the-beatles-white-album

The Beatles – Don’t Pass Me By – 1968

Released November 22, 1968,  The Beatles White Album contained this first song composed by Richard Starkey.  Ringo had co-written a few songs before, but this was his baby and he sings it solo in his own charming yet quirky style.  It’s obvious that Ringo loved Country-Western — isn’t it?

Rumor has it that Ringo was working on this song as early as 1963.  Good job Ringo!

Check out Ringo Starr & His All-Starr Band Tour 2003 performing “Don’t Pass Me By.” OMG there’s Shelia E on Drums, Colin Hay and more! Truly an All-star band Mr. Starr!  Wonder if this was the seed that germinated into the idea for Shelia E to join up with CMT’s “Gone Country 3”?

“Don’t Pass Me By” Composed by Richard Starkey

I listen for your footsteps
coming up the drive.
Listen for your footsteps
but they don’t arrive.
Waiting for your knock, dear
on my old front door.
I don’t hear it,
does it mean you don’t love me anymore?

I hear the clock a’ticking,
on the mantel shelf.
See the hands a’moving,
but I’m by myself.
I wonder where you are tonight,
and why I’m by myself.
I don’t see you,
does it mean you don’t love me anymore?

Don’t pass me by, don’t make me cry, don’t make me blue.
‘Cause you know darling, I love only you.
You’ll never know it hurt me so,
I hate to see you go.
Don’t pass me by, don’t make me cry.

I’m sorry that I doubted you,
I was so unfair.
You were in a car crash,
and you lost your hair.
You said that you would be late
about an hour or two.
I said, “That’s alright, I’m waiting here,
just waiting to hear from you”.

Don’t pass me by, don’t make me cry, don’t make me blue.
‘Cause you know darling, I love only you.
You’ll never know it hurt me so,
I hate to see you go.
Don’t pass me by, don’t make me cry.

Don’t pass me by, don’t make me cry, don’t make me blue.
‘Cause you know darling, I love only you.
You’ll never know it hurt me so,
I hate to see you go.
Don’t pass me by, don’t make me cry.

1968 Startling Music Ltd.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2009/02/19/dont-pass-me-by-performed-by-the-beatles-1968/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

