“Act Naturally” Performed by The Beatles (1965)

the-beatles-help

The Beatles – Act Naturally (1965)

“Act Naturally,” with Ringo singing lead, appeared on The Beatles 5th LP that served as the soundtrack to their second movie “Help!”

I remember vividly that the movie was a bit above my head content wise. I basically just sat there (in the balcony since the movie theatre in my town had yet to be integrated!) with my Beatle sneakers on and my Beatle purse that I carried my popcorn money in and swooned every time John came on screen. You see all of my friends that went with me loved Paul but I secretly was yearning for John. 😉

Little did I know then  that I was watching one of the first ever two hour music videos. (LOL)

Composed by Voni Morrison and Johnny Russell — Buck Owen’s original rendition of  “Act Naturally” was  a #1 country single.  Buck also charted again with his remake of the song as a duet with Ringo: It was #27 on the Hot Country Single Charts.

The Beatles’ cover  version was the B-Side to the single “Yesterday.”  The song also became a staple of Ringo’s live concerts as a solo act.

Remember this promotional video?

Act Naturally – Composed by Voni Morrison and Johnny Russell

They’re gonna put me in the movies
They’re gonna make a big star out of me
We’ll make a film about a man that’s sad and lonely
And all I have to do is act naturally

[CHORUS]
Well, I bet you I’m gonna be a big star
Might win an Oscar you can never tell
The movie’s gonna make me a big star,
‘Cause I can play the part so well

Well, I hope you come and see me in the movie
Then I’ll know that you will plainly see
The biggest fool that ever hit the big time
And all I have to do is act naturally

We’ll make a film about a man that’s sad and lonely
Begging down upon his bended knee
I’ll play the part but I won’t need rehearsing
All I have to do is act naturally

[CHORUS]

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2009/02/05/act-naturally-performed-by-the-beatles-1965/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

