“I’m Gonna Make You Love Me” (1966 – 1969)

Delia Mae Warrick (1945-2008)

Delia Mae Warrick (1945-2008)

Dee Dee Warwick – I’m Gonna Make You Love Me (Charted 1966 #88 Pop & 1967 #13 R&B)

The glorious love song “IGMYLM” was first released in 1966 as a single and also appeared on Dee Dee Warwick’s first of three Mercury albums, “I Want To Be With You,” released in 1967. Miss Warwick, who started her music career singing gospel as a teen,  was a talented session singer who’s Pop career was unfortunately overshadowed by her sister Dionne just as her original version of this song was overshadowed by the “Motown Machine.”

supremes-temptations 1969

Diana Ross & The Supremes and The Temptations – I’m Gonna Make You Love Me (Charted 1969 #2 R&B & #2 Pop)

Released in November 1968 on the  Motown LP “Diana Ross & The Supremes Join The Temptations”, this cover version bested Miss Warwick’s cover by reaching the top ten on both the R&B and Pop Charts. Just listen to it and you can understand why.

I prefer to hear my dear Temptations sing this love song, composed by Kenny Gamble, Jerry Ross & Jerry Williams, without DR&TS.  Eddie Kendrick does a superb job on the tenor solo and the rest of the group’s exquisite harmonies can be heard in this live vintage performance from The Ed Sullivan Show: apparently  everyone in the group has a live mike and Miss Ross is not there to drown out the other voices (LOL). I can recall swooning when this came on tv and I still swoon when I see and hear it forty years later or my DVD player.

I am really anxious to see which version you prefer on this song so I hope you  vote below.

For a final treat here is a video of “I’m Gonna Make You Love Me” performed as a live duet, by Diana Ross (DR&TS were the guest hosts) and 19 year old Stevie Wonder, on episode #6.22 of the “Hollywood Palace” variety show in 1969.

Keep a song in your heart and the oldies alive.

sondanyr2

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/im-gonna-make-you-love-me-1966-1969/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

