“Gravy (For My Mashed Potatoes)” – Performed By Dee Dee Sharp (1962)

Dee Dee Sharp – “Gravy (For My Mashed Potatoes)” (1962)

In 1962, “Mashed Potato Time” and “Slow Twistin'” charted a wee bit higher than this song — but “Gravy (For My Mashed Potatoes)” is my favorite Dee Dee Sharp song from the Sixties.

“Gravy” charted #9 Billboard Pop and #11 Billboard R&B.

Pennsylvania born and bred Sharp, born Dione LaRue, was the first Black teen idol thanks to her many appearances on Dick Clark’s Philly based “American Bandstand” show. I recall Sharp’s performances vividly and my thinking she was so groovy.  I sure do wish that Clark would put these types of classic performances (that he must have in his vaults) on DVD for all to re-live and enjoy.

Miss Sharp is still in the music business today. You may read a biography on her here and check out her My Space Page here.

Keep the oldies alive!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/10/20/gravy-for-my-mashed-potatoes-performed-by-dee-dee-sharp-1962/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

