“Personality” – Performed by Lloyd Price (1959)

Lloyd Price – Personality (1959)

Composed by Lloyd Price and his pianist Harold Logan, “Personality” was one of  “Mr. Personality’s” biggest hits along with the classic “Stagger Lee”. I chose this one to present today as it is my favorite of all of Price’s songs. (Besides I was never too fond of “Stagger Lee” even though my Mom was. )

Topping the Billboard R&B Chart at #1 and the Billboard Pop Chart at #2,  “Personality” was not the typical New Orleans R&B style of Price’s previous works. He had made the ultimate cross-over to Pop. This song appealed to everyone!

I can remember being a little girl singing this song around the house: it was the “Over and Over” song and I knew all the lyrics! Still do BTW. And every time I hear it I sing along and I feel good. Try it for yourself and see if it does the same for you. Here are the lyrics: I am sure you will find that once you start singing the lyrics become infectious, so I apologize to you in advance! 😉

“Personality” – Composed by Lloyd Price and Harold Logan

Over and over
I tried to prove my love to you
Over and over
What more can I do
Over and over
My friends say I´m a fool
But over and over
I´ll be a fool for you

chorus:

’cause you got personality,
Walk, personality
Talk, Personality
Smile, Personality
Charm, personality
Love, personality
And of plus you´ve got
A great big heart
So over and over
Oh, I´ll be a fool for you
Now over and over
What more can I do ?

(repeat chorus)

Over and over
I said that I loved you
Over and over, honey
Now it´s the truth
Over and over
They still say I´m a fool
But over and over
I´ll be a fool for you

chorus

Keep the oldies alive.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/09/05/personality-performed-by-lloyd-price-1959/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

