She’s Not There as Performed by The Zombies (1964)

The Zombies – She’s Not There (1964)

This minor key beauty of a song made the British Top 20 and crossed over to reach #1 here in the U.S.  This was the first hit for The Zombies; Rod Argent, Paul Atkinson, Colin Blunstone ( awesome vocalist),  Chris White and Hugh Grundy.

The group had just won their U.K.Decca recording contract in a contest and this is what they came up with when challenged to write a hit! I love it as well as most of their unusual sounding catalog of songs — most of which are in minor keys and/or have major to minor key switches that sound like no other group —  that is until The Doors and others began to copy this style and actually become more successful with it then the underrated Zombies ever were.

Read up on this wonderful group at their WIKI Page and see their current touring schedule at their MySpace Page.

She’s Not There -Composed by Rod Argent

Well no one told me about her
The way she lied
Well no one told me about her
How many people cried
But it’s too late to say you’re sorry
How would I know, why should I care
Please don’t bother trying to find her
She’s not there
Well let me tell you about the way she looked
The way she acted, the color of her hair
Her eyes were soft and cool, her eyes were clear and bright
But she’s not there
Well no one told me about her
What could I do
Well no one told me about her
Though they all knew
But it’s too late to say you’re sorry
How would I know, why should I care
Please don’t bother trying to find her
She’s not there
Well let me tell you about the way she looked
The way she acted, the color of her hair
Her eyes were soft and cool, her eyes were clear and bright
But she’s not there
(solo)
But it’s too late to say you’re sorry
How would I know, why should I care
Please don’t bother trying to find her
She’s not there
Well let me tell you about the way she looked
The way she acted, the color of her hair
Her eyes were soft and cool, her eyes were clear and bright
But she’s not there

Here is a performance clip which I believe to be from the American TV show “Shindig”

Please enjoy this performance video of the group performing their hit on the American TV Show Hullaballoo in 1965.

Keeping the Oldies alive just for you.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/07/07/shes-not-there-as-performed-by-the-zombies-1964/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice comments about a group I have loved since I first heard them as a teenager in the summer of 1964… but I just wanted to point out that you mistakenly referred to them as The Kinks in your opening graf… in fact, the Kins’ “You Really Got Me” came out the same summer as “She’s Not There,” and the two groups have commonly been confused by many… and Jim Rodford, the nassist with the new Zombies touring group, played with the Kinks for years during the Eighties …

  2. Hi Peter,

    No confusion here. Just a typing error.

    Thanks for catching my typing error: it is now corrected. As you can see my previous post was on The Kinks’ “You Really Got Me” and I had them on the brain and in my CD player when I wrote the two posts at the same time. 😉

    My two posts both reflect that the two songs were out at the same time and I lived in the summer of 1964 enjoying them both.

    Thanks for sharing the info about the bassist that played in both groups. Good piece of trivia.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    SonDan

  3. kill bill vol.2 has a nice version…I also mistaked it for the kinks RIP david carradine
    and PS leon russel played keyboards on Monster Mash see ya Carl

    • Thanks carl. Excellent bit of trivia about the piano player!


Leave a Reply

