Do Wah Diddy Diddy as Performed by Manfred Mann (1964)

Do Wah Diddy Diddy – Manfred Mann (1964)

The Beatles singing “Birthday” for July was your clue. So did you guess that this month’s musical theme is “The British Invasion?.”

No I am not going to post just Beatles and Stones hits since the “BI” was so much more than those two groups. In fact I probably will not post anything by those two groups at all since so much of their music is all over the Internet already. I would like to share some of my many other favorites of the “Invasion” while I was growing up in the midst of it.  Sure I wore my Beatle sneakers and carried my Beatle pocketbook when I went to see “Help” at the movies.   😉  Didn’t everyone?  But I also did “The Freddy” in front of the TV set when “Freddy and the Dreamers” appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show on a Sunday evening.

Between 1964 and 1966 the “Invasion” was at it’s peak.  Forty-Eight records topped the U.S. charts during those two years and  21 of them were British imports!  And for the record the “Invasion” not only included artists from England but also from the British Isles of  Scotland, Wales, Ireland and the countries Australia, Spain and Germany.

In my mind the irony of it all is that most Americans never realized that the British musicians were having a love affair with American music — whether it be Pop, Country, R&B or the Blues — and they were trying to emulate us and then we turned around creating bands that emulated them emulating us (Whew!) Interesting – eh?

“Do Wah Diddy Diddy” is the song that gave Manfred Mann international stardom. It was a cover of a minor hit earlier that year by the Exciters (only charted #78 in the U.S.).  It reached #1 in both the U.S. and U.K. BTW don’t you just love the lead singer Paul Jones’ singing style? Unfortunately he left the group in 1966.

Do Wah Diddy Diddy – Composed by Ellie Greenwich & Jeff Barry

There she was just a-walkin’ down the street, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
Snappin’ her fingers and shufflin’ her feet, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
She looked good (looked good), she looked fine (looked fine)
She looked good, she looked fine and I nearly lost my mind

Before I knew it she was walkin’ next to me, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
Holdin’ my hand just as natural as can be, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
We walked on (walked on) to my door (my door)
We walked on to my door, then we kissed a little more

Whoa-oh, I knew we was falling in love
Yes I did, and so I told her all the things I’d been dreamin’ of

Now we’re together nearly every single day, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
A-we’re so happy and that’s how we’re gonna stay, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
Well I’m hers (I’m hers), she’s mine (she’s mine)
I’m hers, she’s mine, wedding bells are gonna chime

Whoa-oh, I knew we was falling in love
Yes I did, and so I told her all the things I’d been dreamin’ of

Now we’re together nearly every single day, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
A-we’re so happy and that’s how we’re gonna stay, singin’ “Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do”
Well I’m hers (I’m hers), she’s mine (she’s mine)
I’m hers, she’s mine, wedding bells are gonna chime

Whoa-oh-oh-oh, oh yeah
Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do, we’ll sing it
Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do, oh yeah, oh, oh yeah
Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do

I am glad to see you here. Keep the Oldies alive.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/do-wah-diddy-diddy-as-performed-by-manfred-mann-1964/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] #78 on both the Pop and R&B charts. But we know it is a great song since British invasion group Manfred Mann ’s cover, of this Jeff Barry & Ellie Greenwich penned classic,  zoomed all the way to #1 here in the […]


Leave a Reply

