Cowboys to Girls as Performed by The Intruders (1968)

Cowboys to Girls – The Intruders/ 1968

This is The Intruders’ fourth single and 3rd hit. It went to #1 on the R&B Charts and #6 Pop. The LP of the same name (pictured above) went to #11 on the R&B Album Charts but only #112 on the Pop Charts (ridiculously low).

“1968, though, was the Intruders’ breakthrough year: “Cowboys to Girls,” a template for what would become Philly soul’s trademark sound, topped the R&B charts and climbed to number six on the pop side, giving the group their biggest hit. The follow-up, “(Love Is Like A) Baseball Game,” was their only other Top 40 pop hit, and the accompanying LP, Cowboys to Girls, wound up their most popular.” (Source)

Of course this is another one of those classic cuts that I can remember singing my teenaged heart out to. Here are the lyrics for you.

Cowboys to Girls – Composed by Kenny Gamble & Leon Huff

Cowboys to girls
I remember when I used to play shoot em up
(Shoot em up, bang, bang baby)
I remember when I chased the girls and beat em up
But I was young and didn’t understand
But now I’m a grown up man
I know girls are made for kissing
Never knew what I was missing
Now my life is not the same
My whole world has been rearranged
I went from (cowboys to girls)
Oh yes I did
(Cowboys to girls)

I remember when I used to see you jumping rope
(Jumping rope up and down baby)
And I remember when you got your first baby coach
But you were young and didn’t understand
Now you want me that I’m a man
And it’s me that you’re kissing
Ain’t it fun reminiscing
Now our lives are not the same
Our whole world has been rearranged
You went from (Pretty dolls to boys)
Oh yes you did
And I went from (cowboys to girls)
Oh yes I did
Still it’s me that you’re kissing
Ain’t it fun reminiscing
Cause our life is not the same
This whole world has been rearranged
I went for (cowboys to girls)
Oh yes I did
You went from (pretty dolls to boys)

Here’s a partial clip that was found of an Intruders performance of “Coyboys to Girls”.

Thanks for stopping by.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/06/20/cowboys-to-girls-as-performed-by-the-intruders-1968/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

