Thou Shalt Not Steal as Performed by Dick & Dee Dee (1965)

Thou Shalt Not Steal – Dick & Dee Dee (1965)

“Dick and Dee Dee were well-known American musical entertainers. Dick St. John (born Richard St. John Gosting, 1940 – died December 27, 2003), was the male half of the duo, and Dee Dee Sperling (real name Mary) was the female half. First working together in school, the duo were not romantically linked.

They teamed up in the 1950s, but their first major hit was the rock and roll song “The Mountain’s High” (1961). It reached the number two spot on the Billboard Hot 100 and spent two weeks in runner-up position, held out of number one by Bobby Vee’s “Take Good Care of My Baby.”

Their recordings were created with four voice tracks. Each of them sang two separate harmony lines. Dick sang the highest and lowest parts including the falsetto, and Dee Dee sang in the middle notes. It was a unique and popular sound. “(Source)

The duo had a #2 pop hit with “The Mountain’s High,” in 1961 but “Thou Shalt Not Steal, composed by John D. Loudermilk, is my favorite Dick & Dee Dee tune. It was their second biggest hit charting #13 Pop in 1965.

“By 1969, both singers had married other people and the duo disbanded.

Dick St. John died in 2003 after falling from the roof of his home. In 2006, Dee Dee Sperling published a book about her experiences as half of Dick and Dee Dee, entitled “Vinyl Highway.”” (Source)

You may see information about the new Dick & Dee Dee’s performances and Dee Dee’s Book at the Official Website.

Thou Shalt Not Steal
Composed by John D. Loudermilk

(parenthetical lyrics are Dick’s falsettos)

Thou shalt not steal, no no
Thou shalt not steal
That’s what the good book says
Thou shalt not steal
Thou shalt not steal, no no
But someone is stealin’ you away from me

I wonder if he really don’t know any better
(Maybe he don’t know)
But he’ll reap exactly, what he sows
(Yeah he gonna reap just what he sows)
If he don’t, he’ll find out someday when (yeah yeah yeah)
Somebody steals you from him (hear me call you now)

Thou shalt not steal (no no no)
Thou shalt not steal
That’s what the good book says
(repeat & fade):
Thou shalt not steal (no no no no)

Dick and Dee Dee perform their hit “Thou Shall Not Steal” from the British show Ready Steady Go!.

I hope you enjoyed the song as much as I do. It brings back great childhood memories whenever I hear it.

Thanks for stopping by.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/04/21/thou-shalt-not-steal-as-performed-by-dick-dee-dee/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi…I came across your comments about Dick and Dee Dee on the blog. I wanted you to know that your information was 100% correct (unlike a number of things I read about the act).
    I also wanted you to know that I’ve revived the act as of January of this year, with a new singing partner, Michael Dunn. We just gave a show in the Los Angeles area and will be posting a compliation video of the show on the Dick and Dee Dee website and also on YouTube. There is a partial clip of Thou Shalt Not Steal, which you might enjoy.
    Thanks for writing about the act and mentioning my book, Vinyl Highway.
    Best Wishes,
    Dee Dee Phelps

  2. Hello Ms. Phelps,

    I am so happy you came across my blog and I appreciate and am honored with your feedback and validation. It really made my day when I read your post.

    That is wonderful news about reviving the act. I know that the time is right and I wish you and Mr. Dunn much success in this endeavor. Hope to see you on tour and/or perhaps on one of those fabulous PBS concerts featuring performances by classic rock and roll artists in the not too distant future. 😉

    I will be checking in at you website and your new blog and urge all of my readers to do the same.

    BTW, I just went over to your blog to look for any existing video and saw the pic of the “New Dick”. He kinda looks like the “Original Dick” might look now in 2008! Kinda spooky. And you look beautiful.

    Please don’t hesitate to check in when your compilation video is up and running so your many fans, especially me, can check it out.

    Best regards,

    SonDan


Leave a Reply

