A Fool In Love as Performed by Ike & Tina Turner (1960)

A Fool In Love – Ike & Tina Turner (1960)

Another first for Sue records, this was the first single for the newly formed Ike & Tina Turner. The story goes that the band singer that Ike had chosen to record this litty ditty, that he had composed, did not show up for the session. A 20 year old Anna Mae Bullock, known then as Little Ann, was there at the session. She and Ike had been together about four years at this point in time and she was carrying his child.

Anyway Anna volunteered to sing it and it was recorded as a demo. But when Ike went to erase her vocals he realized it was a winner and the rest is history. Little Ann became Tina and the single by “Ike & Tina Turner” went to #2 on the R&B charts (why not #1?) and #27 on the Pop chart.

Now we all know this is all about Tina – but they were billed as a duo, Ike DID compose the song and it’s my blog and I can categorize it anyway I want to (LOL).

A Fool In Love composed by Ike Turner

Theres something on my mind
Wont somebody please, please tell me whats wrong

You’re just a fool, you know you’re in love
You’ve got to face it to live in this world
You take the good along with the bad
Sometimes you’re happy and sometimes you’e sad
You know you love him, you cant understand
Why he treats you like he do when hes such a good man

He’s got me smiling when I should be ashamed
Got me laughing when my heart is in pain
Oh no, I must be a fool
Cause I do anything you ask me to

Without my man I don’t wanna live
You think I’m lying but I’m telling you like it is
Hes got my nose open and thats no lie
And I, I’m gonna keep him satisfied

These lyrics are intended for you to sing along — but if you are like me you will end up standing up out of your seat to dance to this song. I do every time I hear it. it’s phenomenal for dancing!

Forty years later Tina sang “A Fool In Love” at her final concert in Sopot, Poland in 2000. Rocking in her Sixties and beyond – once again I say PHENOMENAL!

Thanks for stoppin by.

Published in: on April 10, 2008 at 6:38 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/04/10/a-fool-in-love-as-performed-by-ike-tina-turner-1960/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Williams), Eloise Hester, and Joshie Armstead sang backup for Tina Turner on her first recording, “A Fool in Love.” They cut “I’m Blue” on the Atco label the following year, with Tina singing […]


Leave a Reply

