12:30 (Young Girls Are Coming To The Canyon) as Performed by The Mamas & Papas (1967)

papas-mamas.jpg

Twelve-Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming To The Canyon) – The Mamas & Papas (1967)

Well I guess I march to the beat of a different drummer because this is high on my list of favorite M&Ps songs and yet it only peaked the Pop Chart at #20. Hmm. The song, written by John Phillips, was released as a single in 1967 and also appeared on the group’s final album together in 1968 before they broke up (but hat a brief 1971 reunion). This would be the LP entitled “Papas & Mamas” pictured above. The LP was criticized for being rather “dark” but I still feel it is a classic. The groups harmonies and voices, especially Cass Elliott’s, are nothing less than superb! Don’t you think?

Here are the most interesting lyrics to the song:

12:20 (Young Girls Are Coming to the Canyon)

I used to live in New York City;
Everything there was dark and dirty.
Outside my window was a steeple
With a clock that always said twelve-thirty.

Young girls are coming to the canyon,
And in the mornings I can see them walking.
I can no longer keep my blinds drawn,
And I can’t keep myself from talking.

At first so strange to feel so friendly –
To say good morning and really mean it –
To feel these changes happening in me,
But not to notice till I feel it.

Young girls are coming to the canyon,
And in the mornings I can see them walking.
I can no longer keep my blinds drawn,
And I can’t keep myself from talking.

Cloudy waters cast no reflection;
Images of beauty lie there stagnant.
Vibrations bounce in no direction,
And lie there shattered into fragments.

Young girls are coming to the canyon,
(Young girls are in the canyon)
And in the mornings I can see them walking.
(In the mornings I can see them walking)
I can no longer keep my blinds drawn,
(Can no longer keep my blinds drawn)
And I can’t keep myself from talking.

I have given you a pristine version of the song above, but it is nice to view the artists in action, so here is a performance of the era from YouTube. Denny Doherty, Mama Cass Elliot, Michelle Phillips and John Phillips (and his favorite hat) are standing in this order from left to right in the video presentation for those of you not familiar with the group.
I am hesitant to use these videos since they come and go, but hopefully if you are reading this post the video will still be there for you to enjoy. Please note it ends abruptly.

Thanks for stopping by and letting me share the music with you. What do you think about this song? Will it become one of your favorites by the M&P’s too?

black-signature.png

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/1230-young-girls-are-coming-to-the-canyon-as-performed-by-the-mamas-papas-1967/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. hi sondan gheeeh its nice to know that you were having the lyrics written down in every song
    heheeh this time i can sing with it hehe
    by the way can i ask you something ….
    can i featured your blog as the interesting blog of the month april 2008?
    your blog is so great
    please permit me to interview you through myblolog messaging system…..
    if you permit me just tell me through mybloglog


Leave a Reply

