Peaceful as Performed by The Friends of Distinction (1969)

friends-grazing-lp-front.jpg

Peaceful – The Friends of Distinction (1969)

I guess you figured out, based on last week’s artist, that this week would naturally lead to some of my favorite tunes from what became the “funkier” group spawned from the HiFis! The 5th Dimension may have had smooth harmonies, but The Friends of Distinction had harmonies that were just as good and possibly better — plus they are funkier. They are probably best know for their hits “Grazing in the Grass”, “Going in Circles” and “Love or Let me Be Lonely”. Those would be the obvious three songs that another blogger might present here this week. But I want to share with you some of their songs that are my favorites even though they might be lesser known. Since it is my blog I can do that (LOL)

The first track that came to my mind was the Laura Nyro penned “Eli’s Coming” but I didn’t want to scare you away from here since I did three Nyro songs in a row last week. So I decide to go with “Peaceful” – an awesome mid tempo cover version of a song written and performed in 1967 by Kenny Rankin. It is from The Friends’ 1969 debut LP “Grazin” pictured above.

cartoon-friends-2.jpg

Craig Lytle writes:

Founded by Harry Elston and Floyd Butler, the Friends of Distinction also comprised Jessica Cleaves and Barbara Jean Love (plus Charlene Gibson, who replaced Love during her pregnancy). Elston and Butler’s involvement in music entailed several groups, including the Hi-Fi’s, Ray Charles’ backing band. When the group disbanded in 1966, Elston and Butler recruited Cleaves and Love for a new band; initially, Elston came up with the name Distinctive Friends, but Love suggested reversing the words to Friends of Distinction.

The remainder of this article appears (which also appears in WIKI) can be found here.

Thanks for stopping by today. Hope you enjoyed the song. Let me know what you think of it. Perhaps it will become a new favorite of yours as well.

black-signature.png

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/peaceful-as-performed-by-the-friends-of-distinction-1969/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would love to reply to an email I received on 5/8/08 that claimed to be from Craig Lytle – but the address in the email was invalid. If you are reading this please send me a valid email so that I can resend the response I wrote that will not go through. Thank You.

  2. Jessica Cleaves is my cousin. I am alot younger than her but my sister Claudette and Jess grew up together like sisters. Great Vocals!!!! Last time I talked to Uncle Kline she was doing OK!

    • That is great to hear that Jessica is in good health Gina.
      Yes, your cousin has some great pipes!
      Is she still singing and sharing the wonderful gift she has been given?
      Do you sing too? (LOL)

      Welcome to OSML.


Leave a Reply

