Cindy performed by The Temptations & Bobby Taylor (1968)

i-wish-it-would-rain-lp.jpg
The Temptations – Cindy (1968)

I love this song. It is another great love song penned by William “Smokey” Robinson. Of course I love every song I ever heard by the Classic 5 and the HOF 6 sing, so it goes without saying. Even though David Ruffin dominated this lp, and I am a huge Eddie Kendrick (R.I.P) fan, I still love this song and this lp. Nothing can beat the sound of The Temptations harmonies! Absolutley nothing! And I have to admit that David is singing up a storm – he is at the height of his career here. Unfortunately this was to be his last album as a “Temptation”.

The IWIWR LP (Gordy 927 ), released April 29, 1968, went to #1 R&B and #13 on the Pop chart.

bobby-taylor-anthology.jpg

Bobby Taylor – Cindy (1968)

I wonder if Bobby Taylor’s version of “Cindy” was intended to be the original version released? According to the liner notes of the 2007 “Cellarful of Motown Volume 3”, where this song was finally released, the track and Mr. Taylor ‘s Taylor’s vocal were put down in January 1968. It stayed in the vault until all that time, not even being included on the 2006 “Bobby Taylor Motown Anthology” pictured above. Wonder why?

Well you know I really want to hear from you on which version you prefer so please vote here.

Thanks for listening, reading and voting.

black-signature.png

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/cindy-performed-by-the-temptations-bobby-taylor-1968/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hello my friend
    i love the version of mr bobby taylor uhmmm did you know anything of for whom “cindy” was dedicated to or whose cindy anyway?

  2. Hi Bluedreamer,

    I gotta go with The Temptations on this one. Their version wasn’t released as a single or even as a B-Side. Motown just stuck this great song an an album with no fanfare. Oh well we can all enjoy it now!

    The great Smokey Robinson wrote the song and has never related anything about his writing of it. Guess we will never know if Cindy was real or not 🙂

  3. thanks for the info

  4. I LIKE THE PREFORMANCE BY THE TEMPTATIONS CAUSE THEY SOUND BETTER BOBBY TAYLOR AND YOU CAN UNDERSTAND WHAT THE TEMPTATIONS ARE SAYING AND WHEN THE SING YOU KNOW THE MEANING OF WHY THEY ARE SINING THE SONG THATS WHY I LIKE THE PREFORMANCE BY THEM AND THE HAVE THE VOCALS TO SING IT

    WHAT CAN I SAY THEY CAN SING
    R.I.P TEMPTATIONS


Leave a Reply

