Darling Dear

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – Darling Dear (1969)

This song was originally released on an unusually so-so offering of Smokey Robinson & The Miracles called “Pocketful of Miracles” in 1970: It is now out of print. I never had the album, but knew the song as the “B” side to my 1969 “Point it Out” 45 rpm that I scanned just for you. I always liked the song. But apparently the world agreed with me that the more upbeat cover version by the Jackson 5 was better.

The Jackson 5 – Darling Dear (1970)

The J5 version of “Darling Dear” was one of the songs from their “Third Album” released in the Fall of 1970. I vividly remember that it came out when the school year started and every teen aged girl at my high school pretty much knew the words to every single song on that LP, including me of course. I used to sing the entire LP over and over again while my grandmother(RIP) sorta shimmed around the house laughing at me while I sang. (She probably knew all the words too!). This was the hey-day of the J5 teen idolatry.

This album peaked at#1 on the R&B Album charts and #4 on the pop charts. According to Wiki this is considered one of their best efforts and is their most successful album to date. It sold over 6 million copies worldwide. “Darling Dear” was written by Allen Story, Rosemary Gordy and Robert Gordy. Do you thing the Miracles performed it better or did the J5?

Gotta love it!

NOTE: This post went missing the end of March. I was able to restore it when I found it in the Technorati Cache today (4/17/08). If there were any comments they were not located for restoration. Also I no longer have the link for the survey/vote that was in the original post. Sorry for the inconvenience.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2008/01/09/darling-dear/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well I might be a bit biased as I am Smokey Robinson’s biggest fan but I believe the Miracles did it MUCH better than the Jackson 5. For one, you have the nonpareil falsetto of Mr. Robinson coupled with the incredibly sophisticated (piano and string) arrangement, plus the Miracles harmonizing in the background. The Jackson 5 version was cute but a bit puerile by comparison

    • Biased is fine Camille. 😉

      Smokey may float your boat but my favorite all-time high tenor of any record label is the sweet sweet sound of Eddie Kendrick. My tribute to him has been delayed due to illness in my fam — but please stay tuned for it.

      I do agree that the Miracles harmonies are sweet – especially the tunes with Smoke’s wife in the mix: her voice makes the sound so warm. But the brothers Jackson do a mean brotherly blend as well and deserve credit as well.

      Welcome to OSML.

      SonDan


Leave a Reply

