Barnyard Boogie as performed by Louis Jordan (1948)

HA HA HA GOTCHA! Yea this is The Muppets’ version in this video: this was made during my lifetime! But here is the original version made in 1948 before I came into being.

Louis Jordan and his Band

LouisJordan-Barnyard Boogie

I only recently came to know the music of Louis Jordan when I began subscribing to Sirius Satellite Radio about two years ago. Since I love oldies, and most of my oldies are on vinyl and/or cassettes, I thought this would be a great way to listen to my music without having to digitize all of my vinyl to listen to in the car. I was getting really annoyed with the lengthy conversion process after I had completed all of my Temptations, Eddie Kendricks and DeBarge music, as that was just the tip of my music collection.

Once I got the Sirius Radio, and scanned all of the stations, I fell in love with the mysteries and detective shows played on the the OTR station and would listen to “The Saint,” “Superman,” “Sherlock Holmes,”etc. at bedtime. In between shows Sirius plays music of the era – mostly swing band stuff. This is how I discovered and fell in love with Louis Jordan – “The Father of R&B” and #59 on“Rolling Stone’s List of Immortals”.

After learning how to sing, and honing his musical skills, as the saxophonist in Chick Webb’s orchestra, Jordan went out on his own, fronting the Tympany Five. From 1942 to 1951 Jordan had an astonishing 57 R&B chart hits and was especially popular on Armed Forces Radio during WW2.

Here’s Mr. Jordan’s official web site for additional information.

Thanks for stopping by.

Published in: on November 14, 2007 at 7:58 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/barnyard-boogie-as-performed-by-louis-jordan-1948/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] MORPHIZM wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptBut here is the original version made in 1948 before I came into being. LouisJordan-Barnyard Boogie I only recently came to know the music of Louis Jordan when I began subscribing to Sirius Satellite Radio about two […] […]

  2. I got lucky and ended up with a Louis Jordan disk (no Jewel case, just the disk) somehow thrown into a few disks I had in my car. I have no idea if I picked it up at a garage sale or what, but I love it.

    • You did get lucky Warren. That’s like looking down and finding hundred dollar bill on the street 😉
      What’s on the CD if I may ask?


Leave a Reply

