I Don’t Know Why I Love You (But I Do) as performed by Clarence “Frogman” Henry (1960)

I Don’t Know Why I Love You (But I Do) 45rpm

Ok, ok. So I made a mistake. I decided I should have blogged about this Frogman tune since it was my favorite so I just had to come back and do it. Shame on me.

I love this song and apparently others do to because it shows up on movie soundtrack after movie soundtrack throughout the decades since it’s first release. It was Frogman’s biggest hit since “Ain’t Got No Home” .

Allen Toussaint updated the arrangement of this country-tinged song and Henry’s rendition of the tune proved a huge pop smash in early 1961. Some pressings were released as “But I Do” ; some released as “I Don’t Know Why I Love You”; some released as I Don’t Know Why (see above) and some released as “I Don’t Know Why I Love You (But I Do); and I have also seen it listed as (I Don’t Know Why I love You) But I Do! But whatever it’s called, it’s a nice tune.

I Don’t Know Why/But I Do – Clarence Frogman Henry (1960)

Play the song and sing along. Here are the words to help you out – but you probably already know them. But please be careful, because once you get this song in your head you can’t get it out for a while. That’s what happened to me when I mentioned it my last post — I have been singing it ever since so decided I had better post about it to get it out of my system.

(I Don’t Know Why I Love You) But I Do
Written by Robert Guidry aka Bobby Charles and Paul Gayton
Peak chart position # 4 in 1961

I don’t know why I love you but I do
I don’t know why I cry so but I do
I only know I’m lonely and that I want you only
I don’t know why I love you but I do

I can’t sleep nights because I feel so restless
I don’t know what to do, I feel so helpless
And since you’ve been away, I cry both night and day
I don’t know why I love you but I do

My days have been so lonely
My nights have been so blue
I don’t know how I manage, but I do

Each night I sit alone and tell myself
That I will fall in love with someone else
I guess I’m wastin’ time but I’ve got to clear my mind
I don’t know why I love you but I do

[instrumental to end]

As always I appreciate your visit.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2007/10/24/i-dont-know-why-i-love-you-but-i-do-as-performed-by-clarence-frogman-henry-1960/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

  2. This song says everything that I have been saying to Maria for weeks. It is great. Maria, this song, I dedicate to you.

    Lee

  3. This song says everything that I have been saying to you, Maria, for weeks. It is great. Maria, this song, I dedicate to you. I see that I am not the only one.

    Lee

  4. please . . where can i find the sheet music for ‘i dont know why i love you but i do’ by clarence henry [?!]

  5. You can get a digital version at this link below Carl:

    The title at this site is “But I Do (I Don’t Know Why)” by Paul Gayten & Robert Guidry. The sheet music is for voice, guitar and piano.

    http://www.musicnotes.com/download/scorch/default.asp?ppn=SC0002555

    BTW what instrument do you play?

    Well do enjoy the music and thanks for stopping by to visit.

    SonDan

  6. I have searched for this song and music for ages. Found it today and cannot stop singing it.

    Thanks for putting it on line
    and the happy memories.

    • Hi Jean,

      I am glad you found my blog and the song. Now that’s the good news.
      Now the bad news is you will have the song stuck in your head for at least one week– not just one day — as it is that infectious. (LOL)

      Happy Holidays to you.

  7. Thanks for your reply

    Ive had it in my head for years before I found it.
    Now on Christmas day at my sons place we will all sing it around the piano Words and All

    Happy Holidays to you to

    Jean

  8. This song was my late grandmothers favourite song. I have the last xmas card she sent to me & i always put it up at xmas. I was thinking of her & searched the net for this song & found it on your website (thanks).
    It a great song with a real happy feel to it.
    She loved listening to this & so do i.
    I had a tear & a smile when i listened to it.
    Thanks & best wishes.
    Anthony (lancashire England)

    • Dear Anthony,

      Thank you so very much for sharing that with me. Isn’t it wonderful the beautiful memories that music can invoke in us? Especially at this time of year when our departed loved ones are on our minds even more so than usual (if that’s possible).

      I am flattered and honored that you shared this with me and am glad the song was here for you. You actually brought a tear to my eye and I will forever remember your post whenever I heart this song. Plus you just made me recall something my own late maternal grandmother would sing around me to smile my tear away — “Sugar in the Morning, Sugar in the Evening, Sugar at Suppertime!” (BIG SMILE) So thank you!

      Wishing you and yours a safe, happy and blessed holiday.

      Sincerely,
      SonDan


Leave a Reply

