Hurts So Bad as performed by Little Anthony & The Imperials (1965)

This song is one of the many great love ballads of the 60s and one of many in a string of Top Ten hits by Little Anthony & The Imperials. In fact this tune went to the Top 5 in 1965 and is what I call a “new classic”.

Little Anthony, so named by DJ Alan Freed, had hits with group from1958 up until late 1961 when he left the group to try a solo career. But neither he or the Imperials (which replaced him twice) had any hits. So in late 1963 Gourdine returned to the group , replacing his second replacement, and once again the hits started coming on their new label – including this one.

The group is still active today and has an Official Website where you can read a biography, see photos and appearance schedules for the group.

Thanks for stopping by.

Published in: on October 15, 2007 at 6:16 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2007/10/15/hirts-so-bad-as-performed-by-little-anthony-the-imperials-1965/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is an amazing song. My mother always had music playing in my childhood home. (Heck I think we may have had the 45!)In a way I would like someone to do a remake, but I might get upset with the end result. I just wish people enjoyed ‘oldies’ more…or as I like to all it REAL MUSIC.

    ‘Like needles & pins’ oh I love it!

  2. Yeah, I think a re-make might take away from this definitive version. It’s sorta like “Just My Imagination” by the Temptations. I don’t think it should ever be re-made because it’s a CLASSIC! No one can ever sign it like Eddie Kendricks – EVER!

    Thanks for reading and BTW – I love “Needles & Pins” too. I think I’ll add it to my “to blog about” list.


Leave a Reply

