“If I Were Your Woman” Performed by Gladys Knight & the Pips (1970)

First I was humming “End of Our Road” for two days. Then when I got in the car today, the first thing I hear, on Sirius Soul Town Radio, was “If I Were Your Woman” by GK&tP.It sounded so good to me, that when I got home I popped in one of my GK&tP Greatest Hits CDs to listen too while blogging this for you. This love ballad has been covered by everyone from Stephanie Mills to Alica Keys.

Stephanie’s version was on her 1987 lp of the same name. Of course the album should have been called “I Feel Good All Over”: that was her hit at the time and unfortunately she sang IIWYW using the same phraseology: not a good Sound.

As for Alicia’s cover – well my Dad taught me that if you can’t say anything nice then … (you know the rest)

This song was written by three more of the Motown stable of writers/producers; Gloria Jones, Clay McMurray and Pam Sawyer. According to AMG, the song began when Gloria and Pam were talking about women’s issues on their lunch hour.

This beautiful ballad  went to #1 on the R&B charts and #9 on the pop charts on early 1971.

BTW, since I have started this blog with two GK&tP songs I think I will finish out the remaining few days with more of the same.

Thanks for reading.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldschoolmusiclover.wordpress.com/2007/08/27/if-i-were-your-woman-as-sung-by-gladys-knight-the-pips-1970/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

